British Film Sparkles at Moët Awards, London



The 16th Moët British Independent Film Awards, held at Old Billingsgate on Sunday, belonged to James McAvoy and Imogen Poots for comedy drama Filth and The Look Of Love. Anna Bass (12 Dec’13)

 Actor James Nesbitt hosted the ceremony which was attended by British industry luminaries including Stephen Frears, Harvey Weinstein and Steve Coogan and, naturally, the champagne flowed into the early hours. Nesbitt raised the laughs with his quip that the awards were ‘better than BAFTA, more arty than the Oscars, and less Nazi than the GQ awards.’  Funnily enough we didn’t spot Russell Brand at the ceremony…

On the more serious issue of prizes James McAvoy took the ‘Best Actor’ award for Filth while Imogen Poots was honoured ‘Best Supporting Actress’ for her role in Paul Raymond biopic The Look of Love. This year, the awards themselves made a debut; designed for the first time by Fredrikson Stallard and created by Swarovski  and the awards ceremony was streamed live online.

                           Charles Dance, Trudie Styler and Sting at the reception

Huge pyramids of Moët champagne formed a sparkly backdrop to the event which comprised a reception followed by a three-course dinner and Bellini-festooned afterparty. Amid the glamour, serious honours included Sean Ellis as ‘Best Director’ for Metro Manila  which won ‘Best British Independent Film’. Lindsay Duncan won ‘Best Actress’ for Le Week-End while Ben Mendelsohn took ‘Best Supporting Actor’ for Starred Up.


                   Imogen Poots accept the award for Best Supporting Actress

 Julie Walters was awarded the coveted Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film, and Paul Greengrass the Variety Award, which recognises an actor, director, writer or producer for ambassadors who bring international visibility for the UK. The Special Jury Prize went to Sixteen Films & Friends (AKA Team Loach), in recognition of their contribution, bringing the work of Ken Loach to life. The Raindance Award was won by The Machine.


What they said...

                                 Eddie Marsan  and James McAvoy have fun at the afterparty

 "This year our independent jury had an extremely tough job, they were asked to choose from an impressive pool of talent and creativity in a year where the diversity of storytelling is more extreme than ever. Thanks to an independent film industry which encompasses so many different cultures, personalities, visions and voices, Britain is producing a new generation of fearless artists both behind and in front of the camera who represent that richness of our diverse British society. With so many of the films exploring themes about being less judgmental and more forgiving, this perhaps reflects a movement within British independent filmmaking that brings much hope for the future.”   Joint directors, The Moët British Independent Film Awards, Johanna von Fischer & Tessa Collinson

“'This has been a standout year for British film and the BIFAs has once again kicked off the awards season in style, putting the wild creativity and bold storytelling of the UK's independent sector centre stage. Congratulations to all the winners and to the BIFAs for doing such a great job of spotlighting so many brilliant filmmakers.” Ben Roberts, Director, BFI Film Fund

 “As a long term supporter of British film, Moët & Chandon is delighted to share in the celebrations of tonight's very well deserved winners. To toast the successes of 2013, guests joined us in creating a seven-foot champagne fountain to salute a year of amazing achievements.” Elsa Corbineau, Marketing director, Moët & Chandon

 “The breadth, scope and quality of this year's nominated films shows that British independent films and talent are not only the talk of the town but the talk of audiences everywhere.”   Elliot Grove, Founder, BIFA and Raindance Film Festival


The Winners' List 

                  Stephen Frears, Harvey Weinstein and Steve Coogan chat film


BEST BRITISH INDEPENDENT FILM    Metro Manila    Sponsor : Moët & Chandon 

BEST DIRECTOR   Sean Ellis – Metro Manila   Sponsor : AllCity & Intermission

THE DOUGLAS HICKOX AWARD [BEST DEBUT DIRECTOR]    Paul Wright – For Those in Peril     Sponsor :  3 Mills Studios

BEST SCREENPLAY   Steven Knight – Locke 

BEST ACTRESS  Lindsay Duncan – Le Week-end    Sponsor:  M.A.C Cosmetics

BEST ACTOR   James McAvoy – Filth   Sponsor: BBC Films 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS     Imogen Poots – The Look Of Love

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR  Ben Mendelsohn – Starred Up     Sponsor: Sanderson & St Martins Lane 


                  Actress Natascha McElhone pours good cheer

MOST PROMISING NEWCOMER  Chloe Pirrie – Shell   Sponsor: Studiocanal

BEST ACHIEVEMENT IN PRODUCTION   Metro Manila    Sponsor: Company3

 BEST TECHNICAL ACHIEVEMENT   Amy Hubbard – Casting – The Selfish Giant    Sponsor: LightBrigade Media 

BEST DOCUMENTARY  Pussy Riot - A Punk Prayer



THE RAINDANCE AWARD  The Machine   Sponsor: Wentworth Media and Arts

THE RICHARD HARRIS AWARD (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British Film)     Julie Walters

THE VARIETY AWARD    Paul Greengrass

THE SPECIAL JURY PRIZE Sixteen Films & Friends (AKA Team Loach)


See the ceremony at  www.film3sixty.com/moetbifa


Click to share thisClick to share this