Empire Awards bring out the A-List

Tom Cruise, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Brit director Paul Greengrass all in the same room? No, it wasn’t a film set - just last night’s gathering of the film A-list at the Jameson Empire Awards. Sat Bal (31 Mar’14)

It was wall-to-wall names at Grosvenor House hotel in London’s Park Lane last night; Hugh Jackman mingling with Kate Beckinsale and Rosamund Pike while Professor Brian Cox, The Inbetweeners cast and Steve Coogan joined other British names at London’s big film night.

The 19th Jameson Empire Awards announced the best films and filmmakers of the past year, as voted for by the cinema-going public. Film fans from the UK and around the world selected their cinema highlights for the awards, which honour blockbusters, independent filmmaking and home-grown British films.

Arnold Schwarzenegger with the Action Hero Of Our Lifetime award

...as presented to Arnie by Jonathan Ross

To celebrate 25 years of the magazine, Empire presented two special Lifetime awards to its star guests Tom Cruise and Arnold Schwarzenegger. Current Empire cover-star Cruise was presented with the ‘Legend of Our Lifetime’ award by Rosamund Pike.

The magazine charted Cruise’s global success through his films including Top Gun, Mission Impossible and Jerry Maguire. The ‘Action Hero of Our Lifetime’ award went Arnold Schwarzenegger  for his performances in household name films as True Lies, The Terminator series and Total Recall.


James McAvoy, winner of the Jameson Best Actor award

Two further special awards were presented by Empire to Hugh Jackman and Simon Pegg. Jackman attended the ceremony to receive the ‘Empire Icon’ award presented by Jameson Irish Whiskey while Simon Pegg collected the ‘Empire Hero’ award. Pegg’s award predecessors include Daniel Radcliffe, Michael Fassbender, Keira Knightley and Jude Law.

Rosamund Pike presents Tom Cruise with Legend of Our Lifetime award

Pegg’s recent film The World’s End scooped Best British Film in what was to be an outstanding evening for British filmmaking talent. James McAvoy and Emma Thompson took ‘Jameson Best Actor’ and ‘Best Actress’ presented by Max Factor awards.

Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa was awarded Best Comedy presented by Magic 105.4. In addition, Oscar and BAFTA-nominee Sally Hawkins received the award for ‘Best Supporting Actress’ for Blue Jasmine. Joining Hawkins in the new supporting actor categories – introduced this year to acknowledge the extensive breadth actors shortlisted by readers – was Michael Fassbender who won the ‘Best Supporting Actor’ presented by The National Lottery award for his role in 12 Years a Slave.

Margot Robbie gets Best Female Newcomer award for The Wolf Of Wall Street

Actors new to our screens were honoured in the Newcomer categories with Margot Robbie collecting the award for Best Female Newcomer presented by Max Factor for her exceptional performance in The Wolf of Wall Street while Aidan Turner collected Best Male Newcomer presented by Tresor Paris for his role in The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. Peter Jackson’s epic sequel also took a second award for Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film presented by MediCinema.

Hugh Jackman holds his Empire Icon award 

Another film scooping multiple awards was Gravity for which Alfonso Cuarón triumphed in the Best Director category and which received the prestigious Best Film accolade, presented by Sky Movies.

British director Paul Greengrass also received the Empire Inspiration Award, presented by Mazda Motors UK, for his work on the Bourne trilogy and recent commercial and critical success Captain Phillips.

Paul Greengrass with his Empire Inspiration award

The Jameson Empire ‘Done in 60 Seconds’ short film award-winner was David Smith from the UK for his remake of There Will Be Blood. Smith was on a shortlist of 24 contestants from 16 countries , nominated by Empire readers, which was then whittled down to the Top 5 by the judging panel which included: Ben Wheatley, Jon S. Baird, Edith Bowman, Alex Zane and Empire’s editor-in-chief Mark Dinning.

Blake Harrison, Joe Thomas and Simon Bird - Inbetweeners chaps on the red carpet

“Appropriately, given that this year marks Empire’s 25th Anniversary, this year’s Jameson Empire Awards were the best ever,” said an understandably satisfied Mark Dinning. “Not only were we able to give some of our all-time favourite movie heroes some very special awards, but we were also absolutely thrilled that the Empire readers voted in bigger numbers this year than ever before.” 



EMPIRE 25th AWARD: The Legend of Our Lifetime
Presented by: Rosamund Pike     Tom Cruise

EMPIRE 25th AWARD: The Action Hero of Our Lifetime
Presented by: Jonathan Ross        Arnold Schwarzenegger

EMPIRE ICON presented by Jameson Irish Whiskey
Presented by: Darren Aronofsky   Hugh Jackman

Presented by: JJ Abrams        
Simon Pegg

EMPIRE INSPIRATION presented by Mazda Motors UK
Presented by: Brian Cox         Paul Greengrass

Best Male Newcomer presented by Tresor Paris
Presented by: Sarah Harding     Aidan Turner (The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug)

Best Female Newcomer presented by Max Factor
Presented by: Richard Armitage   Margot Robbie (The Wolf Of Wall Street)

Best Horror
Presented by: MyAnna Buring     The Conjuring

Best Comedy presented by Magic 105.4
Presented by: The Inbetweeners cast    Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa

Best Thriller presented by Quaglino’s
Presented by: Stacy Martin & Jamie Campbell Bower     The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy presented by MediCinema
Presented by: Sophie Turner & Thomas Brodie-Sangster   The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug

Best Supporting Actor presented by The National Lottery
Presented by: Celia Imrie      Michael Fassbender (12 Years A Slave)

Best Supporting Actress
Presented by: Richard E Grant     Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)

Best British Film
Presented by: Mark Gatiss     The World’s End

Best Actress presented by Max Factor
Presented by: Stephen Fry   Emma Thompson (Saving Mr. Banks)

Jameson Best Actor

Presented by: Kate Beckinsale   James McAvoy (Filth)

Best Director presented by Air New Zealand
Presented by: Logan Lerman & Douglas Booth   Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)

Best Film presented by Sky Movies
Presented by: Professor Brian Cox     Gravity

Presented by: Edith Bowman, Ben Wheatley, Alex Zane    David Smith, There Will Be Blood

Images by Tim P.Whitby for Getty Images

Click to share thisClick to share this